Begin or End Trip Instead of Canceling

At Uber, we’re committed to supporting our partners by providing them the feedback needed to improve their star ratings. In recent driver surveys, rider feedback was the #1 item drivers requested from us, and we listened! In the past week, we received the below feedback from your riders.

Begin or End Trip Instead of Canceling

What does Begin or End Trip Instead of Canceling mean?

A rider wrote to us stating that you started and ended a trip without them actually getting in the vehicle. Since this is frustrating to riders, we monitor it closely. It is important that if a rider cancels or does not show up that you press "Cancel Trip" instead of beginning and ending the trip. If you do begin a trip when the rider actually canceled they will be able to rate you, and will likely give you a low rating because of the charge they received on their account. Riders CANNOT rate drivers on a canceled trip. Therefore, cancellations have no effect on your stars.

How can I Improve?

The best way to avoid the ‘Begin or End Trip Instead of Canceling’ complaint is to only begin the trip once the rider(s) gets into the vehicle. Should you mistakenly start the trip before this happens, please use the in-app support to request that we adjust the fare as quickly as possible.

What’s next?

To refresh your knowledge on Uber’s best practices, check out this refresher video:


If we continue to receive negative feedback from riders that impacts your rating, your account will be reviewed and may be deactivated.

Note: we expect some negative feedback over time for all our partners as this is the nature of the business! If you believe you received this complaint unfairly, please don’t worry, we’ll only take action if we see a pattern of undesirable behavior. Again, the purpose of this message is to provide you constructive feedback to help you improve.