CPUC Rules and Regulations

The CPUC has identified additional requirements for people interested in becoming TNC partners.  It is important for you to become familiar with these requirements.  Please take 5 minutes to view the required video training below to make sure you’re knowledgeable about these rules and regulations.

Trade dress now required in front and rear windshields:

The CPUC requires that all TNC partners display the Uber trade dress in two locations whenever online. You must display trade dress in both the front windshield on the passenger side and the back windshield on the passenger side. Having Uber trade dress helps riders quickly identify your car so you can start the trip on time. Please be aware that failure to display trade dress on both front and rear windshields when online can result in a ticket and fine of up to $1,000.  

 

Need additional Uber trade dress? You can pick up a trade dress by visiting our Uber Greenlight Hub or by visiting any of our Uber Greenlight Spots. To locate your nearest Greenlight Hub or Greenlight Spot, visit www.ubermovement.com and search for your city in the upper righthand corner.

 

Self-reporting vehicle mileage:

In California, all TNC vehicles must complete a 19-point vehicle inspection every 12 months or 50,000 miles, whichever occurs first. The 50,000-mile requirement includes miles driven when not logged into the partner app. As such, we require all partners to self-report their vehicle mileage.  Be on the lookout for how to report your mileage in the partner app.

 

Rules and regulations video training:

The CPUC has identified additional requirements for people interested in becoming TNC partners.  It is important for you to become familiar with these requirements.  Please take 5 minutes to view the required video training below to make sure you’re knowledgeable about these rules and regulations.

 

CPUC information requests:

The CPUC requires us to notify partners in California that consent is not needed for the disclosure of a partner’s information to the CPUC.  See CPUC Decision 16-04-041 at 3.  

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

In California, additional rules also apply, which include the following:

 

Unaccompanied minors:

In California, due to CPUC requirements, you cannot transport an unaccompanied minor on trips arranged through the Uber app.  Keep in mind that in California, a rider must be over 18 to sign up for an Uber account, but if you believe a rider might be underage, you can ask them to confirm their age and let them know that you will have to cancel the trip if they are indeed under 18.  In addition, you can report requests to transport unaccompanied minors by submitting in-app feedback.

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

 

California airports may have different rules that you must comply with if you are completing an airport pickup or drop-off trip.  For information about airports in your area, please visit http://ubermovement.com/ca-airports.

 

LAX and SAN Airport:  

There are unique trade dress requirements at LAX and SAN. These two airports prohibit dual trade dress.  This means that if you are on an Uber trip, you may only display the Uber trade dress.  Please make sure you are only displaying an Uber trade dress on your front and rear windshield when you are completing an Uber trip. Having two different trade dresses can result in a fine.